Monday, September 11, 2023
1 change
Enhancements to existing features
Warehouse barcode users are now prompted to confirm a location when scanning a reserved product from somewhere other than its expected source. This helps prevent picking mistakes when workers forget to scan the new shelf or location between products.
Original PR description
When a product is scanned and this product is reserved in another location than the current one, the application will ask the user to confirm they want to take this product in the current location by…
When a product is scanned and this product is reserved in another location than the current one, the application will ask the user to confirm they want to take this product in the current location by scanning the source's barcode. The purpose of this commit is to avoid scan error by taking a product in the wrong location because user could forget to scan the location between two different products. Imagine the following case: - There is a delivery for Product A (reserved in Shelf 1) and Product B (reserved in Shelf 2); - First, the user scans Shelf 1, than scans Product A. So far so good; - Now the user scans Product B. The question is: do they want to take Product B from Shelf 1, or did they forget to scan Shelf 2 first ? This issue is relevant only when the products are reserved and the scan of the source location is mandatory. To handle this case, a product reserved in a location can be taken from another location only if this other location was scanned just before the product. A notification informs the user they have to scan the location. So, if we go back to our previous example, the user has to scan again Shelf 1 just before to scan Product B if they really wants to take it from there. [task-3007755](https://www.odoo.com/web#id=3007755&cids=1&menu_id=4720&action=333&active_id=966&model=project.task&view_type=form)